Eduardo M. Sotomayor, MD

Eduardo M. Sotomayor
Board Member

Dr. Sotomayor is the Director of Tampa General Hospital Cancer Institute and Professor at Morsani College of Medicine, University of South Florida in Tampa. Previously, he was the Director of the George Washington University Cancer Center and before he served as the Susan and John Sykes Endowed Chair in Hematologic Malignancies at Moffitt Cancer Center and Professor of Oncologic Sciences and of Pathology and Cell Biology at the University of South Florida College of Medicine in Tampa. He was also the Scientific Director of the DeBartolo Personalized Medicine Institute at Moffitt Cancer Center.

He received his MD degree from Federico Villarreal National University School of Medicine in Lima, Peru. He completed a residency training in Internal Medicine at Jackson Memorial Hospital/University of Miami School of Medicine in Florida, followed by a fellowship in Medical Oncology at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. His translational/clinical research for the past twenty years has focused on the field of cancer immunology and immunotherapy with special emphasis in B-cell malignancies. He has published more than 130 manuscripts, including seminal publications in top tier journals such as Nature Medicine, Nature Immunology, Immunity, Cancer Cell, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Journal of Clinical Investigations, Blood, Cancer Research and Journal of Immunology. He has received multiple grants from the Lymphoma Research Foundation (LRF), the National Cancer Institute and biotech/pharmaceutical companies.

Dr. Sotomayor is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board, Lymphoma Research Foundation, Chair and member of the Executive Committee of the Mantle Cell Lymphoma Consortium, member of the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee, American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), Chair, Latin American Regional Advisory Group, International Affairs Committee, AACR, member of the Hematologic Malignancies Task Force at AACR, member Cancer Immunology and Immunotherapy (CIMM) Steering Committee at AACR, member of the FLASCO Board of Directors, and former member of the National Cancer Institute, Subcommittee A, Cancer Centers. In 2017, he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities at NCI.

© 2021 FLASCO | Premium Website Design by The HDG