Highlights from the FLASCO Business of Oncology Summit with Spring Session & Annual Meeting


Meeting Announcement

Spring Session

View Complete Agenda

Friday, May 11th

Dinner & Program | Barbara L. McAneny, MD, CEO

Immunotherapy in Oncology | Jarushka Naidoo, MBBCh

Business of Oncology Agenda

View Complete Agenda

Including Patients in the Value Equation

What have we learned from NCCN Value Tools?

Cancer is Funny

Dr. Jorge Garcia, from Memorial Cancer Institute, was awarded the very first FLASCO Above and Beyond Award!

Dr. Garcia has been a member of FLASCO since 2015. He has demonstrated a very strong leadership role in developing and implementing a new category of regular members.

Prior to 2015, Pharmacists’ were previously categorized under affiliate members. However, under the leadership of the very enthusiastic Dr. Garcia, pharmacists are now considered Regular Members of FLASCO.

Dr. Garcia played a very significant role in making this change to the FLASCO bylaws. We are proud to say that as of today we have 87 PharmD members. Additionally, in 2014 there were only 2 RHP members. Currently we have 12 RHP members. In 2014 there were no pharmacy students or residents that were members of FLASCO. Under the leadership and dedication of Dr. Garcia, we currently have 2 pharmacy residents and 26 pharmacy students that are active members of FLASCO.

FLASCO has awarded 18 travel awards to pharmacy students and residents that cover travel expenses to the FLASCO spring and fall meetings, totaling over $8,500. In addition, he has been extremely instrumental in working with our program committee. Now at our fall meetings, we have an individual pharmacy track that has been extremely well planned and attended.

He has also gone ‘Above and Beyond’ by taking the lead on several FLASCO initiatives, including some we are doing with our Diamond Elite Corporate Members.

Dr. Michael Diaz, from Florida Cancer Specialists, was awarded the 2018 FLASCO Advocate of The Year Award.

Dr. Diaz has served FLASCO in so many ways it would be impossible to even begin to list all of them.

In 2013, Dr. Gerald Robbins, a past FLASCO president, had a dream of providing living with disease specific events for patients and their caregivers. Unfortunately, Dr. Robbins passed away before FLASCO was able to execute its first program.

However, Dr. Diaz stepped up to the plate and carried on where Dr. Robbins left off. He has been involved with the FLASCO Patient Advocacy Program ever since. To date we have managed 13 patient advocacy events and educated 480 patients and caregivers. Each session is videoed for on-demand viewing. As of April 30, 2018, there have been 715 views. Dr. Diaz has attended and provided the patient advocacy portion of the programs for nearly all of the events.

This program has provided valued information to the patients and caregivers on various disease states throughout the state and has educated the attendees to be advocates for themselves and others.

In addition, Dr. Diaz has been very active with our FLASCO legislative committee, serving as Co-Chair of both the State and Federal committees.

Also, he has been extremely active representing FLASCO at the Community Oncology Alliance (COA) events and he makes approximately two trips per month to Washington, DC to help COA lobby for issues that are extremely important to community oncology.

His tireless efforts at both the state and federal levels have been recognized nationwide.

Fellows Travel Awards

During the Spring Session, FLASCO Awarded 9 Travel Awards to the following FLASCO Members. Congratulations to the recipients of the 2018 FLASCO Travel Awards: Amanda Stephens, MD., from the Florida Hospital Cancer Inst., Matthew Perez, MD., from Moffitt Cancer Center, Lynh Nguyen, MD., from Moffitt Cancer Center, Manoj Gadara, MD., from Moffitt Cancer Center, Brian Ramnaraign, MD., from The University of Florida, Magali Van Den Bergh, MD., from Moffitt Cancer Center, Cesar Ochoa, MD., from Mayo Clinic, Avan Armaghani, MD., for The University of Florida College of Medicine, and Preeti Narayan, MD., from The University of Florida College of Medicine.

In addition to the 9 Travel Awards, through a generous grant given by the IntegraConnect Company, FLASCO was provided funding for one Florida Pharmacy Student to participate in the FLASCO Spring Session. Congratulations to the 2018 FLASCO Student Pharmacy Travel Award recipient, Ashini Shah, from Nova Southeastern University.

Thank you to all who participated in the poster sessions!

spring session poster sessions
  • Amanda Stephens, MD, Florida Hospital – Early Identification and Improved Transition of Care for Patients with Newly Diagnosed Gynecologic Malignancies Requiring Outpatient Chemotherapy
  • Anna Schegoleva, PhD, Pfizer Inc. – Palbociclib plus endocrine therapy in hormone receptor-positive (HR+), human epidermal growth factor receptor 2-negative (HER2-) advanced breast cancer (ABC): updated summary of the PALOMA clinical programs.
  • Irene Borrero, PharmD, BCOP and Krupa Paranjpe, PharmD, Memorial Cancer Institute (Pfizer, Inc.) – Treatment Utilization Trends in Hormone Receptor Positive HER2 Negative Metastatic Breast Cancer
  • Justin Martin, MS, Moffitt Cancer Center – Predictors of completion lymph node dissection positivity in melanoma: a retrospective study
  • Ollie Annum, PharmD – A Review on First Gene Therapy used in Treatment of B-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
  • Lynn Nguyen, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center – Mutational Profile and Clinical Outcome in RUNX1-Mutated Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Not Otherwise Specified (AML, NOS) and Acute Myeloid Leukemia with Myelodysplastic-Related Changes (AML-MRC)
  • Jennifer Sibley, PhD, Bristol-Myers Squibb – Nivolumab (N) plus ipilimumab (I) as first-line (1L) treatment for advanced (adv) NSCLC: 2-yr OS and long-term outcomes from CheckMate 012
  • Matthew Perez, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center – Talimogene Laherparepvec: A single Institution Experience


© 2021 FLASCO | Premium Website Design by The HDG